Life Lessons

1. Hope with a Reason

Life can be unforgiving, nature can be unrelenting. Nothing is new under the dying sun, and life will continue to be full of toil, trouble and tragedy. I have experienced this and seen in the life of others.

The last year has been filled with much joy and tears; friendships and relational tensions; comfort and insecurity; stupid decisions and courageous acts of love; times of fellowship and times of tragedy, both in my own life and the life of many friends and family members. The world itself is filled with great stories  but also tragedy.And if all we had was this perspective under the Sun, which many do; then all you will see is tragedy and futility.

But what if God removes you from this, and see the bigger picture; bigger than your desires, decisions, doubts and difficult situations. One of the great ways and life lessons that God has made more fuller, certainly for me and many other friends is this eternal perspective. That this life actually has something to life for, that this life actually has a meaningful destination, and despite that not all things will make sense, there is a way of orientation, that is new, different and with hope focused on eternity. And the rescue plan of God through Jesus, his death and resurrection, is the reason.

2. Purpose of writing

With this in mind, I wanted to start up writing again, not as a commentary on my own life or even the lives of my family or friends; but rather to give an answer to everyone for the hope that you have. I think this would be more useful and loving towards all of my friends and family, as well as those who are reading this, whom I don’t know very well.

Also this here should be a better place for most of the things I will post than social media, simply because of their length.

While encouraging others will be good in doing this. I think it would be more useful and loving not to specifically try to challenge family and friends in writing these things; nor to encourage them to do what is good, as often that is not my place. But there is certainly great reason to be thankful for many people.

More generally in life, I have been aiming to change in;

  • Taking responsibility for my own life in different things
  • Committing plans, people and places to God in prayer
  • Adapting my own personal boundaries to be flexible but also more tighter.
  • Seeking to show love and invest time better in family, friends, work colleagues, people at university; as well as Christian brothers and sisters
  • To seek to grow in godliness, in the spiritual disciplines; and to make decisions that reflect that in both in my own life and in the lives of family, friends, work colleagues, people at university; but especially Christian brothers and sisters

Consider those things my resolutions for 2017, somewhat; and things that I hope that in writing things here, will help to achieve.

3. Behind the name

But at the heart I wish this to the motivation for everything I do:

“But in your hearts revere Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect”   1 Peter 3:15

The reason behind the name is this verse. I know that personally, and I can only guess for the lives of many others; is how easy is to put our hope in things that are temporary or futile.

But the God I believe in and wish to write about; gives us real hope with real assurance; and hence a reason to hope. One of the biggest ways I have been convicted in, is to put hope in the things that last…

Leave a Reply

